Thanks for Being an Ally! Look at what you’ve accomplished for North Korean Refugees.

On Monday, February 29th, we celebrated our latest women lab talk in Hillside Residence:

Far From Heaven. The Unspeakable Lives of North Korean Refugees.

Far From Heaven Banner February 29th

12783720_773423549468309_7432666579299628601_o

Introducing the workshop and testing the energy level! We started with some great energy but I saw it increased!

C360_2016-03-02-09-16-47-995

Kris Moon speaking.

C360_2016-03-02-09-18-10-844

Casey Lartigue speaking.

C360_2016-03-02-09-17-16-314

Yeongnam Eom or Ken, as he likes to be called, speaking.

C360_2016-03-02-09-18-33-881

Rachel Stine speaking.

12794971_773423546134976_5897402111503017893_o

The whole panel answering people’s questions.

We were more than 44 people and started a fruitful conversation about North Korea, North Korean Refugees and how we could help them to find their way and make them more powerful.

12771813_773424346134896_5537421151677492465_o

From right to left, Mallory Gleizer, Casey Lartigue, Kris Moon and me.

Moved by solidarity, we met, we learned, we ate (Spanish Food!) and we shared. 

1456877682586

I made three Spanish Tortillas for this special occasion. I made Gazpacho too.

We shared indeed and look at what you’ve accomplished for North Korean Refugees: 1,000,000 Won has been raised!!

You did it! You did it and the credit for it all belongs to you! (You did it, “My Fair Lady”, by  Alan Jay Lerner & Frederick Loewe).

We truly could not have accomplished it without your active support. 

I have already transferred all your donations and I am sure they will make a huge impact.

THANK YOU. 

A 500,000 Won donation went to Rachel Stine (Helping Hands Korea). They will use it for refugee rescues.

A 500,000 Won donation went to Teach North Korean Refugees. They will give 100,000 Won to Ken and 400,000 Won will help refugees with resettlement and language classes.

I would like to finish this entry by mentioning Casey Lartigue‘s lovely words which make the perfect colophon:

“Yesterday I spoke at a fantastic event organized by Ana Dols. I met her on Feb 2 when I was a featured speaker at an event introducing (TNKR) Teach North Korean Refugees to the American Women’s Club.

I said then during Q&A: I hope this will be a movement rather than a moment. At the end of the event, Ana told me that she wanted to invite me to speak at an event.

27 days later, I was speaking at a Women Lab Korea event. Ana is a newcomer to NK refugee issues, but she organized a really smart panel.

Sunghoon Kris Moon to give an overview about North Korea.
Ken Eom to discuss his own escape from North Korea and his adjustment.
Casey Lartigue to discuss the way (TNKR) Teach North Korean Refugees(now the North Korean Refugee Education Center at AOU) helps North Korean refugees improve themselves.
Rachel Stine to discuss rescuing North Koreans trying to escape to freedom.

I learned some things and also had some things I already knew shaken from the cobwebs in the archives of my mind. I have now given so many speeches that I am ready to get to Q&A to hear what people think. Of course many audiences want to talk about titillating stories about the leaders of the NK regime, I try to be patient, count to 10, remember there was a day I was in their shoes, then answer while trying to encourage them to think about something practical they can do.

It seemed that I had a connection with many people in the room. Sunghoon Kris Moon showed one of Yeonmi Park‘s speeches. Of course, Yeonmi was Ambassador of TNKR and we hosted a podcast together. And we discovered some personal connections.

Rachel Stine was one of the volunteer tutors back when I was the International Adviser to the Mulmangcho School.

Several of our current and past volunteers were at the session. Peter Daley is Mr. Reliable, coming to many of our events in addition to being a tutor and coach in our program. Renee Cummins remains one of our biggest cheerleaders. Eileen Chong has kind of snuck up on me, coming to many of our events, being a coach in our program, helping us with graphics.

Many others. But the woman of the hour was Ana Dols. I meet many people at events who say they want to organize an event. There is a lot of happy talk at events, with people saying they will do one thing or another, then when they leave the event, it seems they forget to do most of what they have said. But not Ana. She followed through, kept the speakers updated, then she got it done! Don’t call her a by-stander!”

 Once again, thank you!
Leave a Reply

